Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Sound 1
30 octobre 2008

Microphones

Some weeks about, I read in the Alter's book the chapter about microphones. I need to write down the essential elements if I don't want to forget! With the full class on microphone and my readings, I can say that I am quite familiar with microphones now! First of all, microphones change acoustic energy into electronic energy. There is three features to consider : operating principle, directional characteristics and sound respond. Microphones pick up sound from three directions, omnidirectional (all around), bidirectional (front and rear), and unidirectional also called cardioid (front only). A good mic technique is when the mic is directly in its pick up pattern. Alter talks about the polar respond pattern which refers to the directions from which a mic hears sound. He also explains the variable capacitance principle, a principle that transduce energy into voltage variation.

While recording narration, I should use the unidirectional microphone in order to get better sound quality. For all my recordings, I need to pay attention and be careful because all microphones will distort if sound levels are too high. It distort when the maximum sound-pressure level is reached. To resolve the situation, some pads are used as well as windscreens and pop filters (caused by wind or transients). Talking about transients, I learned they are sharp changes in the sound waves, usually done by mistake. I think these informations are importants in my process of learning how to record proprely.

I realized Marie-Pierre and I were very careful with the recording of our second projet. Knowing about microphones, I was more aware of what I should do and what I should avoid. We tried to pick up the narrative with different positions, holding the microphone in different ways. But I realized recoding is harder then I though. While editing the projet, we noticed there was a lot of unwanted ambient noises.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Sound 1
Publicité
Publicité